To Issuu or Not to Issuu. That Is the Question.

My flatmate introduced me to a website yesterday, called Issuu. I had been previously unaware of its existence, however this morning I created an account, and watched explanatory videos. It would seem that you can create an online magazine, or publish your work as though it were a glossy magazine. Now, I would love a career in publishing one day, and so this seems like a wonderful place to start. I have the resources to begin, but I don’t think I could write an online magazine entirely on my own. So I think I’m going to have to enlist some help.

I thought firstly, I could take a selection of previous posts, and tweak them, to make them into viable magazine articles, and collaborate with photographers at my university for the photo-shopping, and making things look pretty. However, I was wondering if I could find other contributors, around university and amongst the blogging community, who might like to be a part of an online magazine.

Pretty glossy magazines. (1)

If I were to try to jump-start a magazine, I’d take a creative focus; photography, and journalism, perhaps with columnists. I’d attempt to publish initially every three months. I’d like to include reviews on books, films, and music. I’d like to include three or four articles on current events, and I’d also like a photography project in there too. I don’t mind what kind of photography project; anything from fashion journalism, to personal projects. But I think I’d like to include an ‘editor’s letter’ too, and perhaps a theme per issue. The fist issue could be devoted to “Beginnings”; this covers a rather wide scope for topics. I think the idea of creating a ‘glossy’ magazine cost effectively also rather appeals to me. I’d like to be a part of paper publishing too one day, but one step at a time…

There are also innumerable benefits for publishing online; sharing, and sharing the rights to works, is made much simpler when using digital files, and work can be distributed among a much wider readership. Essentially here, I’d try to take some of my blogging experience, and my university experience, and make it more aesthetically pleasing and sophisticated, and pop it up online. I suspect that without the publishing costs, and therefore buying costs, people would be much more willing to read it; and any exposure for authors is exposure. It would be rather an experimental venture, but it could be off the ground reasonably quickly due to our boundless technological advances, and invaluable, curriculum vitae worthy experience too. I suppose there’s an element of coordination and management to be considered.

So, I need some ideas; anyone with experience, or anyone with a pointer to give to me, I’d be more than happy to listen to your suggestions!

(:

(1) http://c1blogsustainablogorg.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/files/2011/08/glossy-magazines.jpg

©

6 thoughts on “To Issuu or Not to Issuu. That Is the Question.

  1. I personally feel that the best type of photography project is photojournalistic. It encompasses knowledge and teachers someone something about a place they havent seen or a story that needs to be told. I think this is a great idea and your flatmate is a great person for introducing you to the website.

    • Thank you for reading!
      I always enjoy reading photojournalism, and so I think it would be a good way to put across information aside from simply writing an article. I know lots of photography students too, who are always willing to share their stuff, so hopefully they’ll be willing to get involved.
      Thank you for stopping by!
      (:

    • Thank you very much! I am currently looking at drawing up prototype pages, and I’ll pop updates on here whenever I can. I’ll have a look through the reviews; I always think they add a little edge to a magazine!
      (:
      Thank you for reading
      (:

  2. Pingback: Issuu Update | The Adventures of an English Student

  3. Pingback: Coolissimo: Issuu, online publications and Easter « Cappuccino & Baguette

So, what did you think?

