On Excellence

I’ve been busy revising incessantly this week, and so I got to thinking, as I often do at this time of year, about the nature of ignorance, by way of the fact that every time I revise, I realise how little I know about my course. Admittedly, I’m only a lowly fresher, bottom of the higher education food chain, however, it is daunting to realise that you know relatively little. I think it also makes you realise how good your lecturers really are; they’re the best, and to be the best, you have to dedicate your life to your chosen specialty.

I don’t know yet, if I will ever become an expert in the field of English, however I’d like to think I’ll become an expert in my chosen field, whatever that may be. I don’t think it makes you ignorant to not know everything about something. It makes you ignorant if you don’t want to know. And I do want to know, however I’m just not sure if I’m able to dedicate my life completely to academia, at this point. I think I’d love to be working in the city in a few years, perhaps acquiring some more vocational qualifications, ready to make my way in the world as a professional in a field that I have yet to choose. Although, I’m not so worried about choosing yet; I still have two years in which to live in my university bubble. That safe place, where all you have to do is learn, and attend weekly parties.

It’s this revision you see; it makes me all contemplative and strangely perceptive about the world. An unfortunate side effect of exams for me is illness. Stress brings me out in ear infections, viral infections, stomach bugs, anything really. My body seems to decide to hate me on the exact week where a fully functioning ear and clear sinuses would be an added bonus. But I suppose beggars can’t be choosers, and I hope that this year will prove an exception to a time-honoured tradition.

Anyway, I must be off. There’s ecocriticism to revise, and critical theory essays to trawl through…

(:

©

7 thoughts on “On Excellence

  1. I don’t think it makes you ignorant to not know everything about something. It makes you ignorant if you don’t want to know.

    I think somebody has been reading Karl Popper ;)

    “True ignorance is not the lack of knowledge but the refusal to acquire it”

  2. My expirinence is: it only gets worse. That’s some kind of side-effect of acquiring knowladge. You are slowly making your way out of plato’s cave and it means suffering, But! you are actually moving in the right direction, getting to see more details and neuances, learning is painful. Lastly don’t forget you have always some unique insight to add in this ever-growing jungle of science. Anyway it’s cool to give such advise yet I get depressed by that things still.

    • Thank you for those wise words. I think that’s probably true; I don’t know if we’ll ever really be able to conquer everything within a given subject. I guess you just have to hope that you’ll turn out to be pretty good at something, because you really can’t have everything. I liked you reference to Plato!

      Thank you for reading!
      SarahAlice (:

    • I tend to change the layout of the blog whenever I tire of it, so this is my flavour of the month, as it were. I do like this one though, it’s been my favourite for awhile!

      Thank you for reading (:

So, what did you think?

