On New Year’s Optimism

It’s about this time of year when I get extremely hopeful and optimistic, imagining thousands of possibilities; certainly, buying new handbags in the sales makes me feel all-powerful and as though because I have purchased a new bag, I will become a more interesting and exciting person for it. This fundamentally cannot be the case, but at the same time, it doesn’t hurt. It makes a person feel excited, and renewed, and subsequently more able to tackle things. This is why the sales are so intoxicating, and I know very few who can resist buying a shiny new gadget, or a big bright handbag. We are only human, after all.

I’ve therefore started forming a number of lists of ways to improve; how to improve academically, how to improve physically, how to improve financially. The latter has been dominating my thoughts, somewhat paradoxically, because the sales have also been occupying rather a large amount of my brain’s RAM. I essentially want to be financially solvent enough to be able to start travelling frequently. Ideally, I’d like to be able to travel for four months of every year, for the next ten or so years.

The Golden Temple (1)

In that amount of time then, I should be able to see very many places, do many things, and make it to every continent. I’d like to go sky diving (even though I hate heights) and I’d like to say that I’ve helped people across the world. There’s even an argument for obtaining some kind of medical qualification, so I could work with the Red Cross, or with Doctors Without Borders, whilst travelling. A problem does however exist here, because I am something of a big baby with blood. And needles. I was the only person to faint during my secondary school boosters, in front of sixty other, rather cruel, class mates. But I think perhaps it could be overcome, if the end goal was essentially making a difference, and travelling to fantastic areas of the world at the same time. I almost can’t understand how people can live their whole lives, and never want to leave their country, and see something else. I suppose you’d never really know the things you’ve missed, if you haven’t ever seen them. One never knows what one has until it is gone.

The new year is always a good place to start: to start again, to start something new, take up hobbies, lose weight, change your job, and so on. There’s a finality which comes with the end of a year that allows you the mindset to say that you will be able to change because the year has changed. It’s a reflective time of year, because all new years begin with resolutions, and many of us will revert to our old habits, because we’re human. It takes real commitment to stick with the plans you’ve made. I suppose it depends on how focussed and sure you are of what you’d like to be, do or see. There’s a rather fine line between idealism and realism.

I hope everyone has a good goal for the year, and has fun trying to do it!

(:

(1) http://cache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/india_09_22/india22_16226033.jpg

©

2 thoughts on “On New Year’s Optimism

    • Hmm, I think I’ll be trying that out too! I’m usually quite good at sticking to lists… it’s just the little fiddly things like exercise etc that I find hard to stick to. Gym membership perhaps, since I hate wasting money…
      (:

So, what did you think?

