Oh, What It Would Have Been…

The best news arrived on my twitter feed today: the Titanic movie, starring Kate Winslet and Leonardo DiCaprio, is being relaunched in April. In 3D. I read this wonderful nugget of information and then starting jumping up and down, because I love that film. Honestly. I get completely caught up in the sentimentality and the opulence, and start wondering whether I would have done well in the aristocracy, being Rose. I very much doubt it however; I don’t like corsets, and am rather comfortable in track suit bottoms, and the dress code would probably prove beyond my tolerance. I think I just quite like the idea of being involved in such a romantic situation.

It wasn’t really romantic, of course, because it didn’t happen in real life. However for one hundred and ninety-four minutes, it seems very realistic. The special effects are remarkable; the ship seems completely real, and even to the most critical film buff, it has some value. It even contains a degree of educational value; the unsinkable Molly Brown was indeed aboard the RMS Titanic, and the crew as stated in the film were largely a part of the create tragedy. I love true stories; and whilst Jack and Rose didn’t really exist, the ship did, and I imagine there were some interesting affairs and entanglements aboard.

So, to belong to the aristocracy; it’d certainly be wonderful to experience if even for a day, because we’d all love to be the elite; not to simply examine them, and watch them like vultures, but to be them: to be the people who are the most talked about in history. I think some of the facets of this world would be luxurious beyond any kind of modern comprehension; for example, dressing in magnificent gowns for dinner, or sailing first class across the world. Being painted, being given extraordinarily extravagant gifts, dancing. That would be fantastic. But, I think only for a week.

As a student of course, I also indulge in the above; I go dancing regularly, and I have a fantastic dressing gown that I often sport in the kitchen whilst I’m making my tea. I also receive extravagant gifts, for example, a huge bar of Dairy Milk, or a nice bottle of wine. But somehow, I think the chasm between the old world of decadence is rather far removed from the one I experience, or in fact the one that any modern person can experience. The old world, although highly romanticized, was wonderfully decadent; it was almost a bottomless pit of beauty and luxury. So much so that it was unsustainable perhaps, and of course it had its flaws; it was horrendously political, and expectations preceded personalities. But undeniably, it would have been a wonderful playground to explore for a month or so.

(:

©

5 thoughts on “Oh, What It Would Have Been…

  1. Pah. For me the only thing about that film that didn’t work was the Di Caprio-Winslet love story, and that’s a pretty big flaw considering it was the heart of the film. I agree that everything else was great. The ship felt so alive, so real.

    Still, we have Julian Fellowes’ TV drama to look forward to in April (creator of Downton Abbey). I’m hoping it is going to be worth a watch.

    Reading your post has reminded me that John Jacob Astor died on that fateful night in 1912; he dabbled in science fiction so now I have an excuse to mark the Titanic anniversary on my blog. Thanks!

    • I loved the “pah” there! In my experience, men seem to take the “pah” approach to the love story. Perhaps it’s a girl thing, maybe we live being sentimental and idealistic, more so than our male counterparts!

      I’m looking forwards to the TV drama; I’ll be commandeering my university kitchen on these nights… Jersey Shore will have to wait.

      Thank you for reading!
      (:

  2. I seriously almost hyperventilated when I saw it was coming out again. In *3-D!* I told my husband if we didn’t make it to the show, I had to leave him. LoL.

    Titanic. On the big screen again. *swoon* I was obsessed as a kid. I even had to call my Dad and be like “Dad! Dad! Remember how I was so obsessed!? It’s coming out again!!!!”

  3. Pingback: Who We Are | 714 Editing Company

So, what did you think?

