This Writer’s Block Shows No Sign Of Letting Up

So things are just a little different at the moment. I seem to be leaving a trail of destruction behind me.  I’m exhausted, because I’ve dived straight back into working long shifts, and I find myself confronted with some rather horrible realisations, especially related to my future, and the path I seem to be following. Or as I like to put it, I haven’t found a path yet; I’m just stood at Clapham junction, waiting for the lights to change. I just haven’t figured it out yet, and it’s starting to affect everything, from my self-esteem, to the ways in which I approach employment, and employability.

So at the moment, I’m bumming around at home, tackling my second year reading list, brushing up on some philosophy, and working every shift I’m allowed to try to save some money up, readying myself for my climb up Kilimanjaro next year. I don’t know what it’s going to be like; I toyed with the idea of dropping out last week. However I received an email that snapped me out of my reverie: my deposit had been processed, and so without any real input from me, the deal was signed and sealed. I’m going to Kenya next June. For sure. I’m sure there’ll be a number of posts about the preparations for the mountain; it’s promising to be a daunting task, and the fundraising itself is going be to a gargantuan challenge; three thousand pounds must be raised.

Another problem I’m facing is that I can’t think of anything to write about. There’s nothing that’s attracting my attention. I seem to have run out of things to write about, because all I can think about, is me. And that’s terribly selfish, and I feel horrendously self-involved. I just don’t know what to say, and I certainly have nothing to say that would be of interest or note to a reader.

I wish I had more to say during this post, but the sad truth is that I don’t. I wish I did. But I don’t seem to be able to think about anything but the above, and I’m hoping I’ll venture back to the blogosphere again soon, hopefully with something better to write about, something a little more positive.

(:

©

5 thoughts on “This Writer’s Block Shows No Sign Of Letting Up

  1. Aaaw….don’t judge yourself. Self-judgment is useless as well as paralyzing. For what it’s worth (and you can tell me to stick it), I have an exercise that I do when I’m “stuck” with the writing–I write for a living so I understand this. First, I leave the house. That’s VERY important. Then, I go somewhere interesting with the possibility of good people watching as well as places to sit–like cafes. There’s usually a good flow of traffic and interesting people. Next step: sit and observe. Pay attention to my thoughts. No judgment. Let them pass in and out of my mind. Am I worried? Anxious? My thoughts are usually random but “themed” like “I really need to paint my toenails”…”I hope no one notices my split ends”….”I haven’t exercised in weeks”…”Am I frowning? Do I just frown all the time now? I’m frowning…”…”Did I forget to put on deodorant?”…”Am i wearing pants?”…”Is that person a man or a woman?”…”What would I do if my name were Joe Hands and I fell on someone? “Get Joe Hands off of me!”…So…as these random, self-conscious thoughts pass and I settle in, I’m able to free up a bit. And, then I start really SEEING my environment. I can start making real observations about people. I pick a person. Someone who I find intriguing. Perhaps it’s the barrista. Or a patron. A child. I write a description. As detailed as I want. As I would a character. Elaborate on them. Create a character sketch. If you draw, you can illustrate them. This is a good way to break “writer’s block”. It’s a good way to get out of your own world and practice getting into someone else’s. It’s also good practice in “universe creation” particularly for fiction writing. And, it’s good practice in mindfulness. Anyway…it’s just a suggestion, and it may not work for you. But, it’s one tool in my writer’s toolbox…

    xo, LJ

    P.S. And never leave a blank page. Even if you only write one sentence. Even if it’s an awful sentence. Always write something.

    • That’s fantastic advice, thank you so much! I’m going to try venturing outside today, and so I think I’ll take a notepad, and bear in mind your words of advice!

      Thank you for reading.
      SarahAlice (:

So, what did you think?

